Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Los Campesinos! - Romance Is Boring
released Jan 26th, 2010


from the album - Romance Is Boring

YouTube - Los Campesinos! - Romance Is Boring

Celebrating a bratty, tongue-in-cheek viewpoint and a spunky indie-punk style similar to Art Brut while applying an assortment of instruments akin to Architecture in Helsinki, the seven-piece group Los Campesinos! (a Spanish name that roughly translates to "the Peasants") formed in 2006 in Cardiff, Wales. The lineup took shape around Cardiff University students Aleksandra (keyboard, horn), Ellen (bass), Gareth (glockenspiel), Harriet (violin, keyboard), Neil (guitar), Ollie (drums), and Tom (guitar), all of whom began sharing vocals (as well as the last name of Campesinos!). The group played their first show at a college function in May 2006; by the following August, they had built enough of an audience to secure an opening gig for Broken Social Scene. Later that year, Los Campesinos! signed to the U.K.-based label Wichita Recordings, which released the band's first single in early 2007.

A North American contract with Arts & Crafts followed several months later, and Los Campesinos! expanded their catalog that summer by issuing recordings on both labels, including a second single from Wichita and an EP from Arts & Crafts titled Sticking Fingers into Sockets. The full-length Hold on Now, Youngster... followed in early 2008. After a long tour that took up much of the year (and included a stop in Seattle to record new songs), Los Campesinos! issued their second album, We are Beautiful, We are Doomed, in November. Another round of touring followed, including the band's first performance in South America. By early 2009, though, Los Campesinos! had decamped to Connecticut to record another album, Romance Is Boring, which arrived in early 2010.

album review from music omh
Romance Is Boring is indie glock rock specialists Los Campesions!' third album in as many years, and the Cardiff based band have released another gem of a collection just in time for Valentine's Day. But it would take a foolhardy soul to give this as a gift to a potential lover.

The record is crammed full of their trademark bleakly humorous lyrics; lyrics that pick at love like it's a scab that needs a trip to the clinic to sort out. The lyrical obsessions are imparted over a template that has expanded on their trademark indie rumble. The music on Romance Is Boring is a glorious riot of Technicolor shifting from bellicose strum alongs, via painful headache inducing riffs to almost pastoral string laden middle eights.

The opening track In Medias Re lulls the listener into a false sense of calm. An acoustic guitar sways atop warm organ fills before a dark riff stalks the song. The sound swells, guitars blur, the riff nags away before haemorrhaging into the opening vocal on the record. Within the first minute we have had mentions of vomit, sex in lay-bys, stolen vodka and crucifixes. Welcome to the romantic worldview of Los Campesions!

Where Alex Turner wraps his lyrics of desire and melancholy in metaphor and innuendo, Los Campesions! go straight to heart - or rather groin - of the matter. This is stark realism; no punches are pulled, just detailed snapshots of lust, longing, self-loathing and despair. The sound of Art Brut on the morning after a beered-up encounter with Arab Strap.

Despite the subject matter and high octane angst, Romance Is Boring is an uplifting experience. The songs are wrapped in brilliantly sharp melodies and sweet pop dynamics. The Listed Building pulses with gentle brass stabs and ba ba ba girl group backing vocals. The title track mixes some stadium rock drums with a killer low key chord sequence. A sparkling power pop backbeat powers A Heat Rash In The Shape Of The Show Me State; Or, Letters From Me To Charlotte (they still can't get enough of those huge titles), the song bouncing on a bed of organ drones and a corrosive riff.

The shouty vocals that introduce the duet This Is A Flag. There Is No Wind reappear in the chorus, while the guitar sounds like it's having a breakdown and the drums clatter like a hangover from Hell. Somehow the disparate pieces coalesce into a whip smart song. The closing track Coda: A Burn Scar In The Shape Of The Sooner State Coda is simply wonderful; the sound of The Beach Boys circa Surfs Up force fed a diet of Deerhoof and Micachu. A breezy melody drifts over candyfloss harmonies that wrap themselves around a bed of static hiss and backwards drums to add up to three minutes of warped sunshine pop.

Romance Is Boring is a triumph, a glistening, breathless success. Musically and lyrically Los Campesions! are a rare treasure of a band at the peak of their considerable powers.

Track Listing

1. "In Medias Res" 4:42
2. "There Are Listed Buildings" 2:54
3. "Romance Is Boring" 2:35
4. "We’ve Got Your Back (Documented Minor Emotional Breakdown #2)" 4:29
5. "Plan A" 2:02
6. "200-102" 0:53
7. "Straight in at 101" 3:55
8. "Who Fell Asleep In" 4:11
9. "I Warned You: Do Not Make an Enemy of Me" 2:47
10. "Heart Swells/100-1" 0:46
11. "I Just Sighed. I Just Sighed, Just So You Know" 4:38
12. "A Heat Rash in the Shape of the Show Me State; or, Letters from Me to Charlotte" 3:43
13. "The Sea Is a Good Place to Think of the Future" 4:24
14. "This Is a Flag. There Is No Wind" 3:28
15. "Coda: A Burn Scar in the Shape of the Sooner State*" 2:52


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  My Chemical Romance - May Death Never Stop You: Greatest Hits Music Head 3 737 10-04-2014, 03:59
  Los Campesinos! - Hello Sadness Music Head 1 576 14-11-2011, 08:52
  My Chemical Romance News Music Head 0 811 01-12-2009, 13:12
Last Post: Music Head

Forum Jump: