Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What , if any, is the difference between rap and hip hop/trip hop music ?
A major development occurred in the 1980s in modern music with the evolution of hip hop music !

I often hear the term "rap music" also but the artists that I am familiar with such as Eminem, Kanye West, Neneh Cherry, Cypress Hill, Pitbull, Sage Francis, Snoop Dogg and a few others are listed in Wikipedia as hip hop genre artists !

Is there really a music genre known as rap music or is it being misquoted and in reality a part of the hip hop genre ? Also what is the meaning of trip hop ? I've been seeing this genre a lot lately.

As you can see I am a novice to hip hop but I enjoy it from time to time but I am a little confused in the genres !

P.M. Dawn (thanks, recommended by Tiggi) is a hip hop/ r n' b band somewhat in the style of Kanye West I think. I prefer this hip hop & r n' b combination. Who are some good rap???/hip hop/trip hop artists that don't go overboard commercially ?

Thanks to all !

SteveO
 The ultimate connection is between a performer and its' audience!
hey SteveO,

im not really what you'd call a fan of Rap/Hip Hop but i do listen to Public Enemy, Eminem, D-12, 2-pac and Biggie smalls 'aka' Notorious b.i.g.

50 Cents debut album was good, as is Kanye's latest...there's also a UK rapper called Plan-B who has a fantastic album called "the defamation of strickland banks" which i also enjoy.

as for differences between the terms "rap" and "hip hop"....i have no idea what the differences are,if any???
"BTO....Bachman,Turner,Overweight
They were big in the 70s....for five minutes,on a Saturday,after lunch..."  -  Me 2014.

I'm not sure if there is a difference between Hip-Hop & Rap. Someone with more knowledge might be able to explain the difference (if there is one) ?!

Trip-Hop (or Downtempo) is a variant which is more laid back, and has more of an Electronica feel.

Examples of Trip-Hop artists:

Massive Attack
Tricky
DJ Shadow