Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
question regarding any possible technical differences between US/Canada CD releases
hey, is there any difference sound-wise (mastering/mixing, sound quality etc.) between US retail Cd versions and Canadian ones? someone told me Canadian CDs have 10% less mixing, is that even possible?
Welcome aboard MD, Julian ! You pose an interesting question! I wonder if our music technical expert Jerome can chime in ? I'd be interested in the answer....somehow I don't think it's true but I'm no expert !!!
juliandc Wrote:hey, is there any difference sound-wise (mastering/mixing, sound quality etc.) between US retail Cd versions and Canadian ones? someone told me Canadian CDs have 10% less mixing, is that even possible?
 The ultimate connection is between a performer and its' audience!
Interesting queston Julian. I have never encountered a variation of "mixing" in USA & Canadian versions of albums from the same label at the same time - what sometimes happens is different songs/ song order/ graphics will be included or excluded. Now if we are looking at Japanese versions that goes through the window as all sorts of things can change in production between North America & Japan.

What I know does happen is that there will be different versions of albums released at different times where the sound of an album is completely different. Depending on the flavour of the day remasters will come out sounding quite different. That won't be a difference between USA & Canada but a difference between the versions.

10% less mixing.... not sure how or why that would ever be done. I personally would not put a lot of faith in that stat.